I took the boys to the pool a few days ago and we packed some snacks to take with us. Sammy made himself a lunch of PB&J, pretzels and a banana, all stored in a gallon-sized freezer bag and placed in my ice chest.

After we swam for a few hours, we decided to sit out and dry off, while snacking on the food we brought. Sammy had his sandwich earlier, so he ate a few pretzels, but stopped short when he realized they tasted like bananas. I told him that is what happened when you store all of your food in the same sealed bag as a banana. He peeled his banana in preparation for the yummy treat. He took a bite…and spit it out. I asked him what was wrong with the banana…and he said, “It tastes like farts.”

I almost fell off the bench. I laughed so hard! I said, “Sammy, how do you know what farts taste like?” He said, “I don’t know…I just know that banana tastes like farts.” The lady sitting behind him was giggling…I hope she was telling this story later,  too.

So, after sitting there eating for a few seconds in the silence, Michael looks at me and says, “Does that mean that farts taste like pretzels?”  This started an entire philosophical conversation about the circle of food tastes…so in the end, we concluded that it goes without saying, that if a pretzel tastes like a banana, and a banana tastes like farts…then farts taste like pretzels.

About sammyisawesome

Hi I am Sammy's mom. Sammy is 12 years old, right now. He is really awesome and lots of people told me I should have a website to chart his awesomeness. So here it is. You may think he is an ordinary 12 year old, but give this blog a chance and you will be a believer. Sammy is awesome.

Leave a Reply

