Yesterday I came across a few pictures of Sammy and his older brother, Michael, from a few years ago. A friend of ours was taking pictures of them to use for our Christmas card that year. This was, by far, THE funniest:

What happened to these children? Who took them? Have you seen them?

Yes….those are my children. I think they are about 6 and 8 here. They used to get along fairly well then, not as much bickering and fighting as they do now. Sammy had not quite grown into his ears – although he loved what he called his “stickin’ out ears!”

Seeing this kind of made my heart sad. Sadder than a baby picture would, because I am realizing a bit more that they are not little kids anymore. They are big kids. They are “all growed up” as The Rugrats liked to say it, back in the day. Sammy graduates from the 5th grade on Thursday (he attends year-round school for those of you still wondering why he is still in school) and then he moves on to 6th grade in August. Michael will be in his last year of middle school and this time next year will be prepping for high school.

It’s weird how when your kids are babies, you are so anxious for them to learn to roll over, sit up, crawl, say “mama” and “dada” and then walk and learn to do things on their own. They do those things and so much more. You start to wonder why you were ever so anxious for them to grow…because then they will just get big and leave you, and you will have to say goodbye to their sweet little baby stages, then their adorable little toddler phases. Next, kiss the preschooler goodbye. Then your elementary schooler suddenly starts being embarrassed by you, as soon as he steps into the halls of his middle school. My point is…if you have babies or young children, enjoy every second! I know that I surely did…although there are times I wish I could get back.

I don’t understand those parents that are always so anxious to get away from their kids, or dump them off at a babysitter. I am always finding ways to be home with mine – and even spend time with the babies in my family. We’re all gonna be old and lonely before we know it! Take advantage of the youngins’ that love you while you can!

Please don't ever stop being awesome, Sammy!

About sammyisawesome

Hi I am Sammy's mom. Sammy is 12 years old, right now. He is really awesome and lots of people told me I should have a website to chart his awesomeness. So here it is. You may think he is an ordinary 12 year old, but give this blog a chance and you will be a believer. Sammy is awesome.

One response »

  1. michael was so adorable! What happened?!?!

Leave a Reply

