Maybe some of you might wonder why, having 2 children, I would have a blog about one awesome kid and not the other. Well, the other child is Michael and he is 13 years old. Having your mom keep a blog about you would probably not be the coolest thing ever, right? So, I won’t do that to him, but I will occasionally mark his awesomeness on this blog, because part of why Sammy is so awesome is because he has an awesome older brother.

Michael has had several wonderful achievements in his life, and I would like to mark a few here. You may be hearing about him someday as a film maker, and how cool would it be to say you knew him when? A few months ago, he made a short film for the PTSA Reflections Contest. It is pretty clever and I was very hopeful that it would win at the regional level. He kept putting himself down and saying that it wouldn’t but I believed in him! Sure enough, he came home one day and told me that they had announced the winners over the intercom at school, and he had won the Award of Excellence, which means his film, out of all the ones in the school district that were submitted at his level, was chosen to represent the district at the state level! I am very proud and excited for him! I am very hopeful that he could even win at the national level!

Michael, like his brother Sammy, has been practicing kung fu for going on 8 years now. He is a little more serious about it than Sammy, so he likes to compete in tournaments.

Michael holds his first place trophy and also has a first place medal around his neck from the Battle for Bellaire, August 2010.

 

He also does well, coming away with first and second place in his division. He is training for the Holiday in Dixie Tournament on April 16 right now, so wish him luck!

I am very proud of both of my kids, for their accomplishments that are different but equally wonderful. They are also both very different, but equally amazing kids. Sammy is a kind-hearted, helpful and loving soul. He knows what the heart needs and is not hesitant to give it, even if it is just a clever quip to make you laugh. His cleverness and sense of humor never cease to amaze me.

Michael is a natural-born leader, head-strong and willing to stand up for what he believes in, always sticking up for those that are weak or getting bullied or picked on. And boy is he SMART – the brain in this kid’s skull! He acts so silly most of the time that folks are surprised to learn he is a Gateway student and was reading on a 4th grade level at the age of four!

Well, I am sure you might be tired of hearing me brag and dote on my kids. But I am their mother, so what would you expect? Oh, let me just embarrass them really quick:

When they were little and still got along well.

About sammyisawesome

Hi I am Sammy's mom. Sammy is 12 years old, right now. He is really awesome and lots of people told me I should have a website to chart his awesomeness. So here it is. You may think he is an ordinary 12 year old, but give this blog a chance and you will be a believer. Sammy is awesome.

One response »

  1. Michael McCrary says:

    Thanks for writing all this stuff about me. I love you mom.

Leave a Reply

